Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Blog tour- Carolyn Arnold-Interview

Q1.When did you start writing? And when did you become an author?
I started writing as a teenager, but changes in life pushed it to the background.  It wasn't until about 5 years ago, I rediscovered my passion.

Q2. When was your first book released?
My first book, Ties that Bind (A Madison Knight Novel) released in May of 2011.
Q3. Do you have more books that you have written?
I have written 8 novels, 2 shorts, and 1 novella to date.  I have plans to write a lot more novels.  In fact, I hope to write another one before the new year.

Q4. When you were younger did you like to write?
I loved it and demanded that my family and friends let me read what I wrote to them.  I hear that some authors are shy about sharing what they've written, I never was.

Q5. Is there a certain thing you do before writing your books?
I don't outline but have an idea of where the story is going and who the main players are.  I have found interviewing the main characters before I start to be beneficial.  It allows me to know them intimately, which makes for terrific motivators during a plot.  I also find it whittles out any inclination to dump back story on the reader.  And, just because I know a background on a character doesn't even mean it will necessarily come out in the book.  It does define the character, however, whether it's "spelled out" or not.  This is essential for creating believable characters.

Q6. How long did it take you to write a book?
Talking first first novel took me a year, the second six months, and the fastest I've written a novel was one and half months.

Q7.How many books have you read? And did you like to read when you were younger?
I have no way of knowing.  I liked to read then, but more so now.

Q8.Do you have another author or person or even place who/that  gives you inspiration?
Inspiration comes from anyone, anything, or anywhere.  I'm sorry to be so vague, but there is nothing specific I can share.

Q9. Do you write everyday?
When I'm working on a novel, yes.  Lately, I have been editing a lot. 
By extension, I do immerse myself in the craft, in one form or another every day.

Q10.How did you get your book published?
I self-published my books through Amazon both for Kindle and in print.

Q11.Where can we find you online?
Amazon Author Page • Website • Blog • Twitter • Facebook 

Monday, October 29, 2012


Sooooooo, I thought it'd be fun to do a little Monday Morning Rant!


1. Saves Paper. This is probably the most true. When you make a print book, you waste paper, but when you get an ereader, all you have to do is download an ebook! ROUND ONE- EREADER!!!

2. Ebooks are free. This is an awesome benefit. A bunch of ebooks are free! Surely, a paperback one can be at the library as well. ROUND 2............TIE!

3. Knowing how far you are. I love this part in an ereader. It can calculate your percentage of how far you are into it! But then again, you can tell in a print book as well :o ROUND 3......... TIE!

4. Sampler. This is another awesome part in an ereader, it gives you a sample before you buy it! However, as well does a print book! But not all of them... But then again, there is a summary at the beginning.! ROUND 4............TIE!

5. Well, I'm out of argues  if you can think of more, please comment! The winner was a tie! So basically, they are both equally awesome! I suggest an ereader though, as it won all 5 rounds from the tie and the first one. BUT, that doesn't mean you can't do both! I do that ALL the time!
What do YOU prefer... EBook vs. Paperback?

Thursday, October 25, 2012

Blog Tour Day 4- Shandy L. Kurth- Interview and Giveaway!

Q1.When did you start writing? And when did you become an author?
Oh my, I started writing as soon as I could read! :) But as far as seriously writing? I wrote my first novella length script when I was 12 and I've wanted to be an author ever since.
Q2. When was your first book released?
Devastation was released December of 2011! 
Q3. Do you have more books that you have written?
Ohhh yes!! Let me go count the finished scripts I have *danced to her files*  I have at LEAST 4 scripts that are finished and waiting revision so I can get them into your hands and about a dozen half written pieces that I'm sure I'll wrap back around to some day!
Q4. When you were younger did you like to write?
This one goes back to question one. YES! :) It's always been a passion of mine.
Q5. Is there a certain thing you do before writing your books?
Nothing :) I can start writing anywhere anytime, with a marker and paper, a pen, my lap top, doesn't matter. I don't have any special ritual. When something comes to mind I MUST find a way to get it to paper :)
Q6. How long did it take you to write a book?
Depends on the book. Devastation it took me about a year of actual writing but I stopped half way threw it and wrote an entirely different script and then came back to it. I do that a lot. My writing changes with my mood. But actually writing time, I would say a year. From start to finish, about 2 years. Isolation took me only 10 months! I'm not sure how because I was crazy busy with school and work over those 10 months and like Devastation I stopped halfway through and wrote another script haha. I see a trend starting. As for It Can Always Get Worse. That was written many many years ago and I have improved on it every Time I've picked it up over those many years.
Q7.How many books have you read? And did you like to read when you were younger?
I have no clue how many books I've read! A lot, but not as many as I'd like to! Yes, I loved to read when I was younger. I think the first series I remember being glued to was The Hardy Boys! Loved mystery when I was a kid. Not super into it now, but taste changes.
Q8.Do you have another author or person or even place who/that  gives you inspiration?
Every person I meet gives me inspiration. Just living gives me inspiration! It makes it possible to experiance the emotion my character feel.
Q9. Do you write everyday?
I would like to read everyday but do not always get the time for it. I would say I write at least five days a week, a little something anyway. I get cranky when I don't get to write, ask my hubby!
Q10.How did you get your book published?
At the moment I am indie which means I self-publish my books. Someday I might try out the traditional route. I do have beta readers and an editor that polishes it up but it's you readers who make my bigs go where they do! By word of mouth!!

NOW- On to the giveaway- For this- please check out her Goodreads page and become a fan and leave your name for verification. 

This Giveaway is to win an ecopy of one of her books!

Cover Reveal- The Chronicles of Fire and Ice! By Laura Hunter!

You like these pictures? Just wait till the book comes out! This book is by Laura Hunter! Check out her facebook page as well!

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Blog Tour Day 3- S.M.Boyce- Interview and Giveaway

Day 3 of Blog Tour!!! Interview and Giveaway with S.M.BOYCE!!!

When was your first book released?
In October 2011, I released Lichgates, my debut novel. It’s the first in the Grimoire Trilogy: a young
adult paranormal fantasy with a bit of romance and a whole lot of action. You can check it out here.

Do you have more books that you have written?
Yep. Treason, the sequel to Lichgates, is available now. You can grab it here.

When you were younger did you like to write?
Always. My first story was a rather dismal endeavor about a lonely pickle. My style has improved a
bit since then.

Do you have another author or person or even place who/that gives you inspiration?
I draw my inspiration from the world and all the awesome people in it. Earth is so beautiful and has
so many crazy creatures in it that I can’t help but marvel at it. I keep all of my favorite pictures on
my pinterest boards, so feel free to drop by and have a look. I also talk about a new

Do you write every day?
That’s the goal, but it’s not always possible. If I can’t write during the day because of other
obligations, I always daydream about new plot points and characters. In fact, I already know what
series I’ll start once I finish the Grimoire Trilogy.


About Boyce

S.M. Boyce is a fantasy and paranormal fiction novelist who also dabbles in contemporary fiction
and comedy. Her B.A. in Creative Writing qualifies her to serve you french fries, and she updates her
blog a few times each week to keep you entertained.

Connect with Boyce

Website | Blog | Advice for Writers

Facebook | Twitter | Google + | Pinterest | Youtube

Goodreads Page | Amazon Page



My Page:

Tuesday, October 23, 2012


 Day 2- Blog tour!

 First up is an interview with A.D. Trosper!

 Q1.When did you start writing? And when did you become an author?

I wrote in little dabbles when I was in my early teens, but nothing I finished. It wasn't until much, much later after I married and had kids that I started writing a novel. My husband kept telling me I should. So, finally one day I decided I would write a book about dragons and so my journey in novel writing began. I took six years from start to finish. I had a baby in the middle of that and didn't get much written in the first two years after my youngest was born. The rest of the time was taken up with learning to write, learning the craft, taking criticism and learning some more.

When did I become an author? That one is more tricky. I have a published book out and have an author page on FB and family calls me an author, but am I an author yet? With only one book out? I'm not sure I can quite claim that title yet. 

Q2. When was your first book released? My first book was released in May of this year

Q3. Do you have more books that you have written? No, Embers at Galdrilene is my first, although I am working hard on the second in the trilogy.

Q4. When you were younger did you like to write? Some. Mostly I loved to read. I wrote some little stories here and there and loved making up characters in my head, but it wasn't anything I spent a lot of time at. When I was younger, my life revolved around my horses.

Q5. Is there a certain thing you do before writing your books? Plug in my headphones,lol. My writing space is in the living room of our small house. I tried writing without them, but with three kids I found it too hard to concentrate with a video game or Spongebob in the background.

Q6. How long did it take you to write a book? Like I said above, the first book took several years. The second book is moving along much faster.

Q7.How many books have you read? And did you like to read when you were younger? Oh my goodness, I couldn't even begin to count them. I have read so many across so many genres. My mother instilled a love of reading in me from the time I was very little.

Q8.Do you have another author or person or even place who/that gives you inspiration? My husband inspires me a lot. So do a lot of other things. I once saw the sun sinking below a line of thunderstorms. It was so beautiful and dramatic, it inspired a scene and even ended up in the book. Music also inspires me.

Q9. Do you write everyday? I wish,lol. No with three children, homeschooling them and everything else that needs done as a wife and mother, I don't write everyday. I do try to write several times a week though.

Q10.How did you get your book published? I decided to go the indie author route and so far I'm pretty happy with my decision.


Sunday, October 21, 2012

REVIEW- A series of unfortunate Events- By Lemony Snicket

One of my favorite series in the world is A series of unfortunate events! I don't know what I would do without this series!I finished book 9 at the 10:00 time period AGAIN! On with my review.........

Unfortunate. The explanation of losing money,slamming something to your head or being tripped every single day. Well, if you think that's unfortunate, how's this for unfortunate: Coming back from school, hearing that your parents died, having an evil villain as an uncle who wants to kill you to get your fortune, and being devoured by lions. Now THATS evil. A person I know recommended this 13 book series to me and I am glad! This book in the ending had a very strange twist,but a really sad one. I love how Lemony Snicket starts out the book! REVIEW RATING: 5/5 Stars!

The Real Summary: Everybody loves a carnival! Who can fail to delight in the colourful people, the unworldly spectacle, the fabulous freaks?
A carnival is a place for good family fun - as long as one has a family, that is. For the Baudelaire orphans, their time at the carnival turns out to be yet another episode in a now unbearable series of unfortunate events. In fact, in this appalling ninth instalment in Lemony Snicket′s serial, the siblings must confront a terrible lie, a caravan, and Chabo the wolf baby. With millions of readers worldwide, and the Baudelaire′s fate turning from unpleasant to unseemly, it is clear that Lemony Snicket has taken nearly all the fun out of books.

Final Verdict: Anyone who can handle pure torture, will love this series!


Product Details

  • Publisher: HarperCollins; First Edition edition (October 29, 2002)
  • Language: English

Lemony Snicket

                                 Fun Trivia!
                          Biography from Amazon

Saturday, October 13, 2012

Ida B...and her Plans to Maximize fun, Avoid Disaster, and (Possibly) save the world! REVIEW-by Katherine Hannigan

Sigh, my childhood all over again with this book. I thought it would be a fun read, and I learned from this book, you will never be too old for Ida B! On with the review!

I say this a lot, but I can totally relate. I mean, I know how it feels to have someone take something away from you, have people think that it can never happen, think there will be revenge, yet there is none, but soonly gets annoyed--- I lead a complicated life.... Anyways...

  It starts out with a girl named Ida B., she is a homeschooled child,and is a very smart one. Her life is just about good, until she hears some devastating news. Her mother has cancer, her family cannot afford to keep homeschooling her with her mother's treatment and Ida B's father working the farm. Her biggest nightmare begins.... She has to go back to school and her father has to sell part of the orchard and the farm to somebody else. It's a big deal because she has to go to the same elementary school and when she was in kindergarten her teacher kept calling her Ida, her mother's name and refused to call her Ida B. And she actually has fun but has to keep it a secret, until her classmate, Clair moves into the house they sold. REVIEW 5/5 STARS!

 The Real Summary: Ida B. Applewood believes there is never enough time for fun.
That's why she's so happy to be homeschooled and to spend every free second outside with the trees and the brook.
Then some not-so-great things happen in her world. Ida B has to go back to that Place of Slow but Sure Body-Cramping, Mind-Numbing, Fun-Killing Torture—school. She feels her heart getting smaller and smaller and hardening into a sharp, black stone.
How can things go from righter than right to a million miles beyond wrong? Can Ida B put together a plan to get things back to just-about perfect again?

Final Verdict: It is such an amazing book! I couldn't put it down! The ending was adorable! Just remember one thing, you are never to old for Ida B.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Greenwillow Books; Reprint edition (December 26, 2006)
  • Language: English ( From Amazon)

Katherine Hannigan 

                                                             Barnes and Nobles
                                                           Google Books

Monday, October 8, 2012

Free Book Friday! ( Somewhat)

It's a habit to forget Free Book Friday, but here are some FREE books!

Short Summary:
After a fire destroys seventeen-year-old Julia's home and kills her foster parents, she chases the half-demon responsible across the country and back, determined to avenge her family and discover why a host of celestial baddies want her dead. With Julia is enigmatic hottie Cayne, who has his own score to settle with the half-demon, and who might be just as dangerous as the creature he and Julia hunt.

Beyond Time
Author: Elizabeth Marshall
Short Summary:
Please don't buy this book if you have already downloaded 'Haunting Grace', 'Changing Grace' and 'Saving Grace'. This book is a consolidation of these three titles.

Having endured years of an abusive marriage, Grace Evans finally walks out on her loveless marriage and boards a train for York. Within hours of arriving in the ancient city, her destiny is changed forever by a portrait in her hotel room. Haunted by the ghost of Robert Hamilton and confronted with a portrait of herself painted four hundred years ago, Grace has every reason to doubt her sanity. Then Grace finds herself four hundred years in the past, in the bed of the man who has haunted her. A man she barely knows but who, with just one kiss, filled the empty space that had been her shattered heart.

How are Grace and Robert connected to Simon and Corran of ‘When Fate Dictates’?
I’d love to tell you, but that would ruin the surprise, so I’m sorry folks, you are just going to have to find out in ‘Entwined’, book three of the 'Highland Secret Series'.

Short Summary:
Romance can be a hairy business--especially when you're a werewolf. 

As the owner of Get a Mate Dating Service, Rylie is more than happy to step in and lend a hand to lonely lycanthropic hearts all over town. No matter how hopeless Rylie might be in finding her own soul mate, she has a knack for helping others find theirs. 

Convinced that she is stuck with a family curse, Rylie is positive she will never find her true love. But when drool-worthy Jack Chandler shows up at her door, Rylie wonders if maybe the curse is finally broken. 

But Rylie's life is about to become complicated courtesy of the after-dark crowd. When she begins receiving strange notes and harassment from a jilted client, events careen out of control. 

Jack knows she's more hassle than he can handle. What he doesn't know is whether she's seriously in trouble . . . or simply delusional.

Short Summary:
Book 1 in the JUST BREATHE Trilogy

WARNING: This book contains graphic language, sex, and violence. NOT SUITABLE FOR READERS UNDER THE AGE OF 18.

Strangers in reality, inseparable in dreams...

After years of suffocating under her boss's scrutiny, whale biologist Zoe Morgan finally lands a job as director of a tagging project in Hervey Bay, Australia. Success Down Under all but guarantees her the promotion of a lifetime, and Zoe won't let anything--or anyone--stand in her way. Not the whale voices she suddenly hears in her head, not the ex who won't take no for an answer, and especially not the gorgeous figment of her imagination who keeps saving her from the fiery hell of her dreams.

Gavin Cassidy hasn't been called to help a human Wyldling in over a year, which is fine by him. Still blaming himself for the death of his partner, he keeps the guilt at bay by indulging in every excess his rock star persona affords. That is, until he's summoned to protect Zoe from hungry Fyre Elementals and learns his new charge is the key to restoring order in the dying Dreaming. He never expects to fall for the feisty Dr. Morgan...nor does he realize he may have to sacrifice the woman he loves to save an entire country.

*The author will donate all profits from the sale of the JUST BREATHE trilogy to programs that educate people about whales and the challenges they face.

Short Summary:
When Nick starts dating Summer, the last thing he wants to do is blow it. He's still healing from a rough breakup and, fortunately, Summer seems to need him just as much as he needs her. His best friend, Rusty, isn't jealous because he's still single…he’s terrified. After Nick’s ex-girlfriend is found brutally murdered, unexplainable events begin to arise - from a toaster in the fridge to strange noises in the basement - prompting Rusty to start his own investigation into Summer’s mysterious past. A past she continues to hide. But the more he digs up the more people die and if Nick doesn't shake the puppy love from his eyes, they'll be next to meet a gruesome fate no man should bear.

Cold Summer Nights is a 49,000 word ghost story and contains bloody violence and strong language. Author: Michelle Warren
Short Summary:
Ever since her sixteenth birthday, strange things keep happening to Seraphina Parrish.

The Lady in Black burns Sera’s memories.

Unexplainable Premonitions catapult her to other cities.

The Grungy Gang wants to kill her.

And a beautiful, mysterious boy stalks her.

But when Sera moves to Chicago, and her aunt reveals their family connection to a centuries old, secret society, she is immediately thrust into an unbelievable fantasy world, leading her on a quest to unravel the mysteries that plague her. In the end, their meanings crash into an epic struggle of loyalty and betrayal, and she’ll be forced to choose between the boy who has stolen her heart and the thing she desires most.

Wander Dust is the breathtaking fantasy that will catapult you through a story of time, adventure, and love.

Hope you get these, before they are back to original price! :)


Sunday, October 7, 2012

REVIEW- Balloon Wishes-Regina Pucket

 I never got to post the review up,since I was laptopless but this is the short summary.

In the book before this short story, April's husband dies by a roadside bomb,while she was still pregnant.
    Now, april's son wishes for his mother to find some new love, and makes that wish by letting it go onto a balloon with Jacob, the new coach at the new school who is in charge of the stand. That wish comes  later on it the story SPOILER ALERT....... Jacob marries April, and his wish comes true. This was not too explainable, but give me a break,  it's 21 pages. Now, for the rating.......DUN DA DUN DAA- 3.5/5 stars!

Picture from Amazon.
The Real Summary:    Balloon Wishes is the sequel to If Love was Enough. 

A dying soldier's last wish is for someone to tell his wife how much he loved her, and how much he wanted to be there for the birth of their baby. 

Jacob loses his leg, his faith and faces the dilemma of how to keep the dead Marine's last request without hurting the grieving widow all over again.

God's plan brings them together by using the faith of a child's innocent wish for his mother.

Final Verdict: These are two really short but sweet stories, that I recommend you buy!

                                                                          Book Lending
                                                                           Amazon UK